If you connect a device to a user that has not had a device in ServiceBridge before, it is necessary to configure their device settings so they are able to access features on their mobile app. If you are adding a device to a user that already has one device, the new device will inherit the settings for the original device. 

To manage device settings, follow these steps: 

  1. Click on Personnel in the left-hand navigation column. 
  2. Navigate to the Personnel section.
  3. Click on the name of the Personnel you would like to manage device settings for. 

4. Scroll down to the bottom of the General section and click "Manage Device Settings."

5. Select the permissions you would like this user to have on their mobile devices. These permissions will apply to any devices assigned to this user. 

Below, you will find definitions of each permission:

Work Order Settings

Allow to Add New Job: ON allows a user to add a new job
Allow to Email Work Order Receipts: ON allows a user to send work orders from the device.
Send Work Order to an Additional Email: ON will automatically send a copy of any work order sent via the device to the email specified.

Estimate Settings

Allow to Add New Estimate: ON allows a user to add a new estimate
Allow to Convert Estimates to Work Orders: ON allows user to win or lose an estimate. Winning an estimate will convert it to a work order.
Allow Creating New Estimate from a Job: ON allows user to create an estimate from a work order assigned to them.
Allow to Email Estimates: ON allows a user to send an estimate from the device.
Send Estimate to an Additional Email: ON will automatically send a copy of any estimate sent via the device to the email specified.

Price and Payment Settings

Allow Product & Services Removal: ON allows user to remove Products & Services from work orders or estimates
Allow Pricing Changes:
ON allows user to change the price of Products & Services from work orders or estimates
Allow to Take Payments:
ON allows user to accept payments

Note Settings

Display Invoice Notes: ON allows the user to read, write and edit invoice notes
Display Customer Notes:
ON allows the user to read, write and edit customer notes
Display Location Notes:
ON allows the user to read, write and edit location notes

Custom Field Settings

Display Job Custom Fields: ON allows the user to read, write and edit job custom fields
Display Customer Custom Fields:
ON allows the user to read, write and edit customer custom fields
Display Location Custom Fields:
ON allows the user to read, write and edit location custom fields

Additional Settings

Enable Time Logging: ON adds a timer labeled "Elapsed" to track how long the user has been at a job. This is not to be used with timesheets.
Allow Edit Job Duration:
ON allows the user to change the job duration when the job is in the status "In Progress"
Display Customer Contact Information:
ON allows the user to see the contact information for a customer
Display Assets:
ON allows the user to see the assets on a job
Display Job History:
ON allows the user to see the job history for each customer
Display Campaign:
ON allows the user to see the Marketing Campaign associated with the job
Display Customers:
ON allows the user to see all customers

Sync Date Range Settings

The Sync Date Range settings determine what jobs are shown on the mobile device. This will impact how quickly the mobile app syncs with the information on the web app. The larger the sync date ranges, the more information that needs to sync and the longer the sync will take. The recommended settings here are 30 days in the past and seven days in the future.

Days to See Past Jobs: Determines the number of days in the past that will sync to the device
Days to See Future Jobs:
Determines the number of days in the future that will sync to the device
Days to See Past Tasks:
Determines the number of days in the past that will sync to the device
Days to See Future Tasks:
Determines the number of days in the future that will sync to the device


Geo-Tracking Settings

Geo-tracking allows you to see where a device currently is and where it has been in the past. This will only work if the settings below are enabled and location services are set up on the device. Location settings is a device specific setting that will need to be set up in your phone's native settings app.

Geo-Tracking Interval: Choose how often you would like the device to check-in with the web-app. If you choose the 1-minute or 5-minute interval, it will cause higher device battery usage. If you choose Disabled, the device will not check-in.
Geo-Tracking Start Hour: Choose the time you would like the device to start being tracked
Geo-Tracking End Hour: Choose the time you would like the device to stop being tracked
Week Days: Check the boxes you would like the device to be tracked

Email Preferences

Customers Reply to Technician: ON allows any customers that receive emails from this device to reply directly to the email listed below.
Technician Email: Enter the user's email
Technician Name: Enter the user's name

Supervisor Role

With Supervisor Role, users can manage team performance on their mobile devices. This is designed to help on-site supervisors manage field teams. Learn more about Supervisor Role here.

Enable Supervisor Role: ON enables Supervisor Role
Teams: Select which teams this user should be able to see under Supervisor Role.


Once you select all the permissions you would like, click Save!

Did this answer your question?